Original MC5 "White Panthers" button on a jean jacket, where it belongs.

Detroit proto-punk band the MC5 innovated buttons in the 1960s and used them on their record covers.  A native Michigander contacted Busy Beaver Button Co. about his original MC5 button, and here’s his story:

The button was given to me by a girl I knew in the spring of 1969, when I was attending Pontiac Central High School (Michigan) and was deeply involved in the antiwar movement. I was the envy of all my fellow protesters as these pins weren’t that easy to come by even then.

Be sure to wish a happy birthday to the MC5 guitarist Wayne Kramer on April 30, the same birthday as Willie Nelson!  Awesome to hear this personal account of a historic button in action.

Click here for more information about MC5 buttons.

<<Back to BusyBeaver.net